DIY Craft: Gel Pen Calligraphy

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Calligraphy is the art of producing decorative handwriting or lettering with a pen or brush. Calligraphy varies in fonts, designs and the medium you use. Calligraphy is one of the trends of the artsy world right now since it is one of the easiest form of art to do, people do it as a hobby and as a profession. Millennials love a touch of great quotes and decorative design in everything they own, like notebooks, bags, shirts and etc.

I have been drawn into this since I was in high school, I started hand lettering all because of the boring classes we had, I just get my notebook and doodle at the back page of it and having my teachers thought that I was actually taking down notes (haha you fools lol) Then after that my classmates and friends just started to ask me to do doodles and hand lettering for them and now I’m still doing it. I love doing calligraphy and hand letter designs because I feel like with this I get to interpret and bring to life words and quotes that inspires me.

So for this DIY these are the products I used:

  • Dong-A Gel Pen in Black (P20)
  • Papemelroti Creative Crafters Notebook (P28)
  • Pencil (I just found at home, probably something I used back in elementary lol)

How to:

If you are not fond of your own handwriting or font you can first search different fonts online and download them and it will be your stencil for your calligraphy.

You can download free different fonts here from handwriting, scripts, sans, sans serifs and many more!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

When you already choose a font you can now start. With this I have chosen a script or a calligraphy font so with that you can now write it by following the font with a single line as seen at the top part of the picture. You can use a pencil first if you are scared of messing up with the gel pen.

Next, you can now double the line of the parts which are thickened in the font you choose as seen in the middle part of the picture. Most of the calligraphy fonts are thickened when the pen or brush is stroked downwards and it is thinner with upward strokes.

Lastly, you can now fill the insides of your hand letter with your gel pen as seen in the bottom part of the picture. You can now add designs that will turn your calligraphy more artsy.

With the design, I used the same phrase “memento vivere” which means “remember to live” in Italian. It is in a circular motion with the banner and a sunflower in the middle. In choosing a design choose one word and think of a thing or symbol you can relate to it, like in my work sunflower and life correlates. If you are unsure of what to put as a design you can always use banners, ribbons, arrows and other tumblr-y quote stuff. With varying the fonts you can always put scripts and serifs together, play with different fonts in one artwork and it will surely work. You can use fancier fonts with words that need emphasizing and keep the other words lowkey.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

With this one, I used my own writing for doing this it is a lyrics in a song called ‘Lego House’ by Ed Sheeran. You can also do this by writing the words first in the position you want and just write above it again and it will result to a double lined words and then just fill the parts that needs filling with your gel pen. Then viola! You can use this method if you are just starting or a beginner with hand lettering and calligraphy.

With this form of artwork your handwriting, even though how good or bad it is, it doesn’t actually matter. Take me for example, I really have a very bad handwriting but when I do calligraphy and hand lettering I’m quite okay with the results and when you keep practicing, it actually can make your handwriting better (it can also make your life better).

Leave a Reply

